Advertisement

Fake or Real Turquoise

topic posted Mon, February 23, 2009 - 1:33 PM by  Unsubscribed
Share/Save/Bookmark
Greetings,
I've always loved the color and beauty of turquoise. However as real turquoise becomes more expensive and harder to find, fake turquoise appears to be more numerous. I really don't mind if a vendor is up front about what they're selling and clearly states that what they're selling is fake. However, I've heard that people are getting so good at making the fake turquoise that it is really difficult for even the seasoned jewelry collector to make a clear cut determination. Does anyone know of a full proof non-destructive way of testing for real turquoise?
posted by:
Unsubscribed
Advertisement
  • Im not an expert, but when I see blue bleads that are "too perfect looking" without crack markings, its often dyed howlite instead.
    • dyed howlite is easy to spot.

natural turquoise is easy to recognize as it is often not "perfectly even" in colour as howlite is. i have some beautiful dead turquoise from nepal (its originally persian and then traded in tibet) it is often very green in colour and with many brown and black veins.

even in the US with all the different varieties u can still spot natural from dyed howlite.